Assamese News & English Newspaper

Third phase of Lok Sabha polls: Public holiday declared in four constituencies on May 7

0 15

Guwahati: The Governor of Assam has declared a public holiday on May 7, 2024, for the third phase of LS elections to be held in four Lok Sabha constituencies. This public holiday has been declared for Guwahati, Kokrajhar (ST), Dhubri and Barpeta. All government/private offices, educational institutions, businesses and commercial establishments, tea gardens and industries will remain closed for polling. This public holiday has been declared under the NI Act, 1881.

The third phase of lok sabha elections will be held on May 7 in four Lok Sabha constituencies of Assam. The fate of 47 candidates will be decided tomorrow. Out of the 47 candidates for the third phase of elections, six are women candidates. Polling will begin at 9,516 polling stations in the state tomorrow. The total number of voters in the third phase of elections is more than 81 lakh. Of these, more than 41 lakh are male, over 40 lakh female and 111 voters of the third gender.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.