Assamese News & English Newspaper

Prime Minister Narendra Modi handed over his resignation to President Draupadi Murmu

0 16

New Delhi: Modi’s second term as Prime Minister has over. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be sworn in for the third time on Saturday. Modi will become the first three-term Prime Minister. Modi met President Draupadi Murmu at Rashtrapati Bhavan on Wednesday and submitted his resignation letter along with her.

The President asked him to continue in office till the time of swearing-in. The Bharatiya Janata Party, which won 282 seats in 2014 and 303 in the 2019 elections, has to settle for 240 seats this time. The BJP alone won 32 seats less than the 272 majority. Now, Modi has to rely on the 53 seats won by National Democratic Alliance members to consolidate his third term. Modi retained the Lok Sabha seat in Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh, defeating Congress’ Ajay Roy by less than 1.5 lakh votes to become a three-time MP from the temple city. Modi chaired a meeting of the Union Cabinet on Wednesday. Modi also attended an NDA meeting. The NDA meeting also decided to go to the President to propose the formation of a third government.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.