Assamese News & English Newspaper

Mallikarjun Kharge takes charge as 1st non-Gandhi Congress president

0 4

Mallikarjun Kharge today took charge of the post of Congress party President at the All India Congress Committee (AICC) headquarters in Delhi.

Kharge apid homage to Mahatma Gandhi at Rajghat before going to the AICC headquarters.

After 24 years, Kharge has been elected as the first non-Gandhi president of the Congress party.

Additionally, after Jagjivan Ram in 1970, he is the second Dalit president of Congress in the last 50 years.

Kharge secured the top post defeating party MP Shashi Tharoor by a huge margin at the presidential election held last week.

Kharge got 7,897 votes in the presidential contest while his opponent Tharoor received 1,072 votes.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.